Sushi 101: Artsy Atisuto

Atisuto – Galleria Mall, Al Wasl Road Dubai

This is a new comer for me. I have been eyeing this small Japanese shack for months last year but I never had time to go since it’s by Al Wasl Road and didn’t even dare to come since there was a lot of construction going on in 2016 in that area(City Walk and Dubai Canal). Now all are open, I now get to go.

imag6478
Cool and funky Japanese interiors

Their location is nice, parking in front of Atisuto was easy for a Monday night. They have an amazing  wooden interior, a little bit quirky and eclectic but right to my taste. Tables  and flooring where minimalistic but when you look up, you’ve got a funky Japanese street art flair splashed and hanging off their ceiling. I like it. But that’s where it ends.

For starters, ordered miso soup. It was bland, less salty, a little watery. It was bad. Then I ordered the Rainbow Sushi and the Unagi Special. Rainbow is composed of salmon, tuna and avocado wrapped outside the sushi roll. And of course, the Unagi roll.

img_20170123_210534_247
Waiting…

Rainbow was just okay. nothing smashing. No exploding of flavors in my mouth. Weird. It looked pretty and perfectly rolled but it was mediocre sushi. I am not trying to be mean but that was my experience. It was nothing special.

Then comes the Unagi Special. I was expecting Unagi to save the day but it continued the flatline I experienced from the Rainbow. The unagi slapped on top looked bland, as pale as my half chewed sashimi when I was seven. I couldn’t even taste the barbecue sauce on the Unagi! I am looking for that sweet and salty melts in your mouth taste on the Unagi but nothing. Of course I still ate everything. Leftover sushi is always bad. I feel bad when there’s still some on the plate.

img_20170125_162837_598
The almost awesome Unagi Speacial

I like Atisuto. How they play in the Dubai market. Their decor, their menu, their service. Should I come back? That’s a yes. I will give them a second chance. If they fail on the Ramen side then it’s all kapoot for them. Well for me. Not speaking for everyone.

Atisuto, I am coming back. I am not ordering Unagi anymore but will try the other half of your menu.

Score: 6/10 (make it 9 please when I come back!)

What do you think?